• Velma Jackson High School

    2000 Loring Road

    Camden, MS 39045

    Telephone Number (662) 468-2531

    Fax Number (662) 468-2748

    School Code: 250425

     

    Principals:

    Carey Kirkland, Principal,  ckirkland@madison-schools.com

    Perry Green, Asst. Principal, pgreen@madison-schools.com

     

    Student Services:

    Dr. Candice Allison, Counselor

    callison@madison-schools.com

    Tangle Luckett-Page, Data Clerk

    tluckett@madison-schools.com

     

    Office Staff:

    Eleanor White- Administrative Asst. to Principal,

    ewhite@madison-schools.com

    Brittany Taylor-Front Desk Receptionist,

    btaylor@madison-schools.com

    Perry Barton-Attendance Clerk,

    perry.barton@madison-schools.com

    Marilyn Jackson-Bookkeeper,

    mjackson@madison-schools.com

     

    Accreditation/School Control: Velma Jackson High School is accredited by the Mississippi State Department of Education and is a part of Madison County School District.

     

    Description of School: Velma Jackson High School is a public, four-year, comprehensive high school with a strong college-preparatory program. There are approximately 300 students enrolled in grades 9-12 for the 2016-2017.

     

    Grading System:  All Velma Jackson High School grades are recorded on the transcript as numerical grades. The letter grade equivalents are as follows: A = 90-100; B = 80-89; C = 70-79; D = 65-69; F = Below 64. The transcript of a high school student’s work will show both semester and final grades in each course. Transfer students’ transcripts are recorded exactly as received from their previous school.

     

    Grade Averaging and Ranking: Class rank and grade point averages are updated on a semester basis and include all graded courses from 9th through 12th grades. Weighted averages are determined by adding numerical semester grades using the following scales:

     

    1.10 x Grade – Advanced Placement Courses

    1.05 x Grade – Accelerated Courses (as specified below)

    Actual Grade – All remaining courses

     

    Class Scheduling:  Velma Jackson High School operates on an 8-period, alternating day, block-scheduling format. There are 4 block periods per day, which are 97 minutes in length. The school year is divided into 2 semesters, with each containing two 9-week terms.